No-Chicken Noodle Soup

28 Dec

I started this blog with the idea that it can be really simple and even fun to cook some delicious and possibly healthy food. Unfortunately, I have been backsliding on this belief pretty hard in the last couple of weeks. Sometimes I get stressed out and end up eating a spoonful of peanut butter and a multi-vitamin for dinner. Or a beer and a cupcake, whatever. The other night, I went to the store to buy a year’s supply of tampons and a chocolate eclair for dinner and I saw this really cute boy. I smiled at him, he smiled at me, then he looked in my shopping basket and threw up in his mouth. I mean, it’s totally his problem. If anything, he should have been impressed because I was clearly getting a really good deal on my feminine hygiene supplies, but that is neither here nor there.

What is both here and there is the fact that sometimes we all get stressed and we want to eat something that gives us a hug on the inside. No-Chicken Noodle Soup (inspired by a recipe from the lovely and talented Beatrix Dynamite) is a simple, comforting and healthful way to eat your feelings.

ingredients

1 onion, chopped

4 stalks of celery, chopped

A grip of carrots, chopped

1 extra firm tofu brick, cubed

4 cups vegetable broth

a couple handfuls of egg noodles

First things first, whip out your cauldron and put it on medium heat. Saute the onion in a little bit of olive oil. When the onion slices start getting soft and translucent, add in the tofu. Stir often and cook tofu and onions together for about 5 minutes or until bored. Next, add in the celery and carrots. To get the right amount of veggies, I cut up the celery and put it in a bowl (the bowl should be about half full). Then, I cut carrots until the bowl was full. Some recipes will tell you a weight or something to measure out your vegetables. I don’t know about you, but I don’t have a scale just chilling in my kitchen. Probably because I’m not a drug dealer.

Okay, next step is to add 4 cups of vegetable broth. Cover the pot and bring to a boil. Add egg noodles to your little heart’s content and continue to cook for about 8 to 12 minutes or until the noodles are soft. Voila! No-Chicken Noodle Soup! Put on your favorite record and eat it in bed.

3 Responses to “No-Chicken Noodle Soup”

  1. thekenprominenz December 28, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    Mmmmhh…but with chicken would be much better! πŸ˜€

  2. Jenny December 28, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    This is awesome. My sister has missed out on chicken noodle soup because she is allergic to chicken. We’ll have to try this. Thanks. : )

    • Megan Liscomb December 28, 2011 at 8:19 am #

      Wow, I’m so glad you found my blog! Let me know how it goes πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

